Quick update: 50 percent complete

After 12 straight hours in front of the computer today, I reached the 50 percent milestone on Windows Phone Secrets: I have now submitted 50 percent of the book to the publisher. Of course, I’ve written more than 50 percent of the book–in fact, one of the unfinished chapters is over 20 pages long–but the publisher only counts completed submissions. And these submissions must include all screenshots as well as chapter text. So that’s what the 50 percent mark means: Literally half completed from their perspective.

According to the schedule, I need to reach 100 percent by August 1. Realistically, this is going to be difficult for a number of reasons, not the least being that some parts of Windows Phone–notably the Games hub–are currently unfinished. We’re also leaving for Germany for three weeks on August 1, so I’d like to be done with the actual writing by then for obvious reasons too. (I’ll be working from Germany, however, so it’s not like I’m taking any real time off.)

(Side aggravation: If Microsoft had just supplied a phone even a week earlier, it would have made a huge difference in my schedule. Huge. But they didn’t, so I’m killing myself to get it done now. I expected to get a phone many weeks before I did, actually. That’s another story.)

This will be a short book compared to Windows 7 Secrets. I’m curious to see how short.

The half I’ve sent in is about 180 pages in Word. But there are also about 200 screenshots. I’m shooting for 400-450 printed pages, but we’re using a new series template, so I’m not sure on the math between Word pages/figures and printed pages anymore. But I’d guess it’s on target. (My target. The publisher would like something longer.)

Good night. :)

This entry was posted in Windows Phone, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quick update: 50 percent complete

  1. gardenwife says:

    Paul, when I saw the tweet about this, I thought you were talking about being 50% through Windows Updates. Sometimes it just feels that way if you’re working on someone’s old computer. LOL Great to hear about the book progress!

  2. viewtifuljoey says:

    Good on ya Paul, can’t wait for the book.

  3. roteague says:

    Awesome Paul, I’m looking forward to both the book and the phone. I’ve held off for a long time buying a smart phone, but now is the time to bite the bullet. I hope T-Mobile gets one (for obvious reasons, I want a GSM phone).

  4. pastorwelker says:

    Great to hear of your progress. I look forward to reading the book.

  5. Congratulations Paul! In a day and age where most companies provide leaflets with their products, its nice to see there’s still a market, however small, for books. But 450 pages and your publisher wants more? I guess that makes sense. In the instant gratification age of internet info, the role of the tech book seems to be to provide the big picture, exhaustively covering the subject so that it earns its keep by teaching the basics so you can then go forward and search for answers online and understand the results you get. Can’t wait to get a copy…and a phone. My Dash 3G has been good to me, but more and more I’m craving a larger screen and as a zune subscriber, Windows Phone 7 fits the bill.

    • Paul Thurrott says:

      It’s unclear what the market is for a book that is probably going to be 12 times the volume of an average Windows Phone. I guess we’ll see. I’m operating on the assumption that the advance is all I get, but then I’m also using this as a launching board to find out more about this system, and quickly, than I’d be able to otherwise. My plan is to write about Windows Phone regularly going forward.

      I’m not sure if that means this was all “worth it.” I can assure you I haven’t had much of a summer, yet. But it’s hard to overstate the difference more time would make. God, I actually wish they’d delay this thing. :)

      • Sadly, I fear I’m in the minority when it comes to reading books on subjects, such as cell phones platforms. Even if you can’t quit your day job, it certainly bodes well for your future plans. As for the books volume, you can put your slide rule away — I’m going for the eBook (:

      • roteague says:

        I curious if you make any revenue from alternative media for your books. I see that your book “Windows 7 Secrets” just hit Safari.com.

      • Paul Thurrott says:

        Not that I’ve ever seen.

  6. roberthleeii says:

    I know you have been asked this before but I can’t find it or remember what you said. have you ever thought of doing a book like Gina Trapani’s complete guide to google wave?

    • Paul Thurrott says:

      Yeah, one of the things I’ll eventually investigate is whether something like that would make sense, both financially and from a usefulness perspective.

Leave a comment