At the Microsoft campus

I’ve gotten a number of emails from people who are curious about my schedule this week in Redmond. I’ve agreed to an NDA (non-disclosure agreement) with Microsoft, so I won’t be able to discuss what I’m learning about Windows Phone this week, but it’s no secret that I’m here, of course, and in lieu of a device that I can take home and use, I do intend to both document what’s going on with Windows Phone–for the book–and run through a number of configurations that simply aren’t possible in the emulator. I’m also meeting with various people while I’m here, of course.

So I’ll have a bit more about what I’m doing–again, without any Windows Phone specifics–a little later. But it’s going to be a busy day.

Oh, and I got a KIN as well. More on that soon too.

This entry was posted in Windows Phone, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to At the Microsoft campus

  1. vangrieg says:

    So you are telling us that you aren’t going to tell us anything about what you know?

  2. wgimenes says:

    Very jealous of you, Paul.

    Really excited about the new WP7. Shame we won’t be able to know much until the NDA is lifted.

    Have a good time.

  3. ericf3 says:

    Great Paul!! Will you know when Windows Phone 7 will be available on the market… I mean more precisely?

    I want one!!! … I Want one!!!

  4. interframe says:

    Regarding the people you’ll meet: are you going to do some sort of interview that you’ll post up on the SuperSite or here? And if not, is there anything you’ll be able to share with us at all? (eg. Your experience with the OS and how it’s shaping up or coming along)

    • Paul Thurrott says:

      I will have some interview material on the SuperSite, yes. But some of the time I’m spending here is with a device, and that’s for the book, so I can’t discuss certain things that I’m learning as a result of that.

      • interframe says:

        So I guess you cant discuss that state of development or just how things are going in general? Thats too bad, but hopefully they wont kill you for dropping little hints on how WP7 is shaping up to be (like on Windows Weekly, perhaps).

      • Paul Thurrott says:

        Let’s just say I’ve seen nothing to dampen my enthusiasm for this particular product :)

  5. aaronlauper says:

    Hi Paul – You should have a meet up with some of your listeners while your in town. Redmond Matador has a great happy hour…

    • Paul Thurrott says:

      :) I’m very fond of Matador, yes.

      I would like to try and do that sometime. This trip is just too compressed. I’m going to be very, very busy this week, sorry.

      • winuxcritic says:

        hmm.. I was hoping you would go to matador and get drunk – So that I can post a first review on Windows Phone 7 device and make some quick bucks. I’m disappointed! :)

      • Paul Thurrott says:

        I’m not ruling that out. :)

  6. ipadsux says:

    Paul,

    If you able – would you be able to ask/confirm when/if VB support will be added to the dev tools for WP7? I’ve read it will be but…

    All the best – sorry about the login name, but when your surname is smith you have no chance at getting your own!

  7. gpsarakis says:

    I expected they’d hit you with a NDA, we’re still a good, what? 4 months? Away from the release of WP7, I just wonder if they’ll let you play with the newest OS build they have today or if you’ll get something a bit older? Hope it’s the newest they have, unlike the rest of us who have only a month+ old emulator build to drool over.

  8. aaronaut says:

    I recently starting watching you and Leo on windows weekly, and it’s great. I bought a Kin Two, and though it’s not perfect, I am really enjoying it, especially the Studio. It’d be great to hear your insights as opposed to the bloggers who have just wholly written the Kin off because they can’t fathom market segmentation.

    • Paul Thurrott says:

      I hope I have some time this week to write a bit about the Kin. This is a really nice phone. I do wish the data/cell plan was a bit less expenisve. But people see this thing and they just want it.

  9. roberthleeii says:

    Can you tell us when the NDA will be over??

    • Paul Thurrott says:

      I’m not sure I know exactly. Roughly speaking, the phone stuff I’m learning about is for the book, not for elsewhere. So it could be a while. From a high level, if you’re paying attention to what’s going on with Windows Phone, you already know everything. This is mostly around particulars, I guess, timing/schedule, and so on.

      • vangrieg says:

        No news is bad news actually. If I know everything about WP7 by now this means it won’t support Tasks, won’t allow to transfer documents from PC to the phone, won’t have PDF support. Ouch…

      • Paul Thurrott says:

        I will ask about all of that.

      • ericf3 says:

        @vangrieg : “No news is bad news actually. If I know everything about WP7 by now this means it won’t support Tasks, won’t allow to transfer documents from PC to the phone, won’t have PDF support. Ouch…”

        … Hey vangrieg!! You forget that Microsoft is not Apple… Please don’t forget the past … Microsoft Always support this kind of things so don’t be scared.. Microsoft Windows Phone 7 Series will support all that…

        I am sure Paul will ask these questions to Microsoft and that he will return with positive answers about your concern…

        You should have confidence about Microsoft … They will not skip the chance to kick ass this time… I am sure…

      • vangrieg says:

        So, no news about Tasks?

      • Paul Thurrott says:

        No, nothing I can discuss, sorry.

  10. winuxcritic says:

    I have heard from one of my contact that MS itself is developing some awesome bad ass apps(not office) that makes use of the Hub concept. I badgered him so much for more info but he wouldn’t spill even a bean. I thought I would drop this here, hoping you would try to find out and share with us at some point. Please give us some hint if you know anything about it.

  11. roberthleeii says:

    With office on the phone are we going to be able sync or documents on mesh or other live service??

    • Paul Thurrott says:

      The current version of Office Mobile supports SharePoint. Microsoft said at the Office launch that the version for Windows Phone would be upgraded beyond what’s out now, so I guess we’ll have to wait and see. :)

    • vangrieg says:

      The official information so far has been that the only ways to transfer documents to the phone will be Sharepoint and email. No Live, Skydrive, USB or anything apart the two methods above.

    • roberthleeii says:

      that does not sound good. i hope they change that

Leave a comment